Spring on the York College campus

Office of the President

Dr. Pamela Gunter-Smith began serving as president of York College of Pennsylvania on July 1, 2013. During her tenure, the College has seen a period of unprecedented growth and collaboration with the local community. 

With support from the Office of the President, the campus now has an established presence in downtown York through the Center for Community Involvement and Marketview Arts. A number of sustainability efforts are also underway, both on- and off-campus, spearheaded by the President's Task Force for Campus Sustainability. Under Dr. Gunter-Smith's leadership, York College continues a proud tradition of affordability and quality for more than 100 undergraduate, graduate, and certificate programs. 

Servire Est Vivere

The College's motto, servire est vivere—to serve is to live—is an ongoing reminder of our mission. Our campus has long served as a place of opportunity where students can receive a practical, experiential education. Here, they build the foundations for their future careers, but even more importantly, they also develop tools to create lives of passion and purpose. By serving our students, York College becomes a catalyst for future generations who will make their own impact on their communities, their industries, and the world.

Dr. Pamela Gunter-Smith smiles for a headshot standing outdoors.
Dr. Pamela Gunter-Smith, President of York College of Pennsylvania

Leadership at York College

  • President's Cabinet

    The President's Cabinet includes senior leaders representing each area of York College. Members meet regularly to discuss all facets of the institution, and to guide College-wide strategy and decision-making.

    Meet the Cabinet

  • Board of Trustees


    Laura T. Wand

    Stephen Tansey
    Vice Chair

    Carol S. Eicher

    Gary A. Stewart Jr. 


    C. Kim Bracey
    Dale A. Carey
    Frank H. Countess
    Lynne Gordon DeWitt
    Michael T. Doweary
    Lisa Fast
    Shawn J. Halsey
    Jeffrey R. Hines
    Natalee C. Gunderson
    Kevin D. Jackson
    Jonathan "Jon" Kinsley
    Jon D. Kirssin
    Kathryn "Katie" Leonard
    Keith A. Marshall
    Maria Musti Cook
    Keith D. Noll
    John M. Ortenzio
    Mark Schmidt
  • Past Presidents
    Since the institution's transition from York Junior College to York College of Pennsylvania in 1968, four leaders have occupied the Office of the President.
    • Dr. Ray Miller (1959-1976)
    • Dr. Robert Iosue (1976-1991)
    • Dr. George Waldner (1991-2013)
    • Dr. Pamela Gunter-Smith (2013-present)
Contact Us
President's Office
Pamela Gunter-Smith, Ph.D., President
Miller Administration Building, Room 101
Phone: 717.815.1221
Monday – Friday: 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Cynthia Reisinger
Senior Executive Assistant to the President