Spring on the York College campus

Back to List

ACAO Digital Fellows announced by principal investigator, York College Provost Laura Niesen de Abruna

July 05, 2017
The York College of Pennsylvania sign on main campus

The Association of Chief Academic Officers (ACAO) today announced the names of the 32 provosts and chief academic officers (CAOs) selected to participate in the ACAO Digital Fellows Program.  Supported by a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the ACAO Digital Fellows Program is designed to provide provosts and chief academic officers (CAOs) with critical information, effective resources, and tested strategies to help CAOs and their faculty understand and adopt high quality digital courseware.

The goal of this project is to explore ways to use digital technology to increase the retention and persistence to graduation among undergraduates, especially those who are first generation, low income, or students of color.

Additionally, the ACAO Fellowship Program will curate a rich, public archive of resources on digital learning and related issues to serve the community of CAOs who want to leverage digital curricular materials to foster student engagement and enhance student learning at their institutions.

“We were delighted with the response from the CAO community to the fellowship opportunity,” said Laura Niesen de Abruna, principal investigator for the ACAO Digital Fellows Program and provost at York College of Pennsylvania.  “The 32 men and women selected as ACAO Digital Fellows represent a wide variety of campuses and bring a rich portfolio of personal, professional, and professorial experience and expertise to this initiative.”

The year-long fellowship opportunity includes four meetings (or convenings) of the Fellowship recipients for workshops on digital learning.  The Gates Foundation grant also includes support for individual campus projects focused on digital learning.



Chartered in 2013, the vision of the ACAO is to provide professional development and networking opportunities to all individuals who are responsible for the leadership of academic affairs in institutions of higher education.  The ACAO provides a network of support for CAOs through its e-lists, professional resources, and annual conference held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Council on Education (ACE).   


2017 ACAO Digital Fellows Program Fellowship Recipients

Heidi Anderson
Provost & Vice President, Academic Affairs
Texas A & M University-Kingsville              
Kingsville, TX

Margaret Annunziata 
Vice President, Academic Affairs
Davidson County Community College
Lexington, NC

Kelvin Bentley
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Tarrant County Comm. College -Connect Campus
Fort Worth, TX 

James Canniff
Provost / Vice Pres. for Academic and Student Affairs
Bunker Hill Community College
Boston, MA

Karen Carey
University of Alaska, Southeast
Juneau, AK 

Diane Chase
Provost & Executive Vice President
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV

Charles Cook
Provost & Executive Vice President
Austin Community College
Austin, TX

Joe Delap   
Provost & Vice President, Academic Affairs
Athens State University
Athens, AL

Carol Erting
Gallaudet University
Washington, DC

Junius Gonzales
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Univ. of North Carolina System
Chapel Hill, NC

Jeffrey Hecker
Provost & Exec. Vice-President for Academic Affairs
University of Maine
Orono, ME

Beth Ingram
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND

Connie Johnson
Provost & Chief Academic Officer
Colorado Technical University
Colorado Springs, CO

Kathy Johnson
Exec. Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ.-Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Bradley Lane
Vice President, Instruction
Seattle Central College
Seattle, WA

Vern Linquist
Dean of the Faculty & Chief Academic Officer
Richard Bland College of William & Mary        
Petersburg, VA

Joan Lorden
Provost & Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of N. Carolina, Charlotte                      
Charlotte, NC

Barbara Lyman
Interim President (and CAO)
Shippensburg University
Shippensburg, PA

Pedro Matrinez
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
Central State University
Wilberforce, OH

Peter Nwosu
Provost & Vice President, Academic Affairs
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA

Gregory Ochoa
Dean, Academic Affairs & CAO
Potomac State College of West Virginia University                  
Keyser, WV

Patricia Rogers
Provost & Senior VP, Academic Affairs
Winona State University    
Winona, MN

Ralph Rogers
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Nova Southeastern University                      
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Jean Shankweiler
Vice President, Academic Affairs
El Camino College
Torrance, CA

Andrew Shean
Chief Academic Learning Officer
Bridgepoint Education        
San Diego, CA 

Gail M. Simmons
Provost and Sr. Vice President, Academic Affairs
Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY

Molly Smith
St. Martin's University  
Lacey, WA

Vincent Solis
Vice President for Instruction and Student Services
Laredo Community College                      
Laredo, TX

Renva Watterson
Vice President, Academic Affairs
Georgia Highlands College                        
Rome, GA

Loredana Werth
University of Pikeville
Pikeville, KY

Dale Whittaker
Provost and Executive Vice President
University of Central Florida
Orlando, FL

Richard Woodfield, Jr.
Provost & Chief Academic Officer
Zane State College
Zanesville, OH

New to YCP? Let us help you find your path.
Explore the information on our site that matters to you most.