Spring on the York College campus

Academic Calendars


2016 - 2017 Calendars


2017 - 2018 Calendars

2016-18 Overview Calendar (PDF)

Withdrawal Policy

 

Fall Semester 2016 - 2017

back to top
August 26 Friday Fall Orientation for New Students
August 29 Monday Evening classes begin including 1st cohort classes
August 30 Tuesday Day classes begin including 1st cohort classes
Late Registration Fee Applies
September 5 Monday Labor Day - No Classes
September 7 Wednesday Last day to drop or add classes for the semester including 1st cohort classes and special studies
September 15 Thursday Last day to apply for Winter Graduation
September 19-21 Mon-Wed Warning grades issued to students for 1st cohort classes
September 23 Friday Last day to withdraw from 1st cohort classes
September 30-2 Fri-Sun Fall Fest (Family and Homecoming Weekend)
October 8-14 Sat-Fri Warning Grades issued to students for full semester classes
October 14 Friday Fall Break begins 5:00 p.m.
October 19 Wednesday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
October 20-24 Thu-Mon Final examinations for 1st cohort classes
October 24 Monday Last day of 1st cohort classes
October 25 Tuesday First day of 2nd cohort classes
October 27 Thursday Last day to drop or add classes for 2nd cohort classes
October 28 Friday Last day to withdraw from full semester classes or from the college for the semester
November 9-11 Wed-Fri Warning grades issued to students for 2nd cohort classes
November 15 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from 2nd cohort classes
November 22 Tuesday Thanksgiving Vacation begins 10:00 p.m.
November 28 Monday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
December 13 Tuesday Last day of full semester and 2nd cohort day classes for the semester
December 14 Wednesday Reading Day - NO CLASSES
December 14 Wednesday Final Examinations for Wednesday EVENING classes including cohort classes
December 15-20 Thu-Tue Final Examinations for full semester and 2nd cohort classes
December 21 Wednesday Winter Commencement 10:15 a.m.

Incomplete course grade change deadline:  for the Fall semester - February 21, 2017. 

Spring Semester 2016 - 2017

back to top
January 17 Tuesday January Orientation for New Students
January 18 Wednesday Day and Evening Classes begin including 1st cohort classes
Late Registration Fee Applies
January 25 Wednesday Last day to drop or add classes for the semester including 1st cohort classes and special studies
February 6 Monday Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
February 6-8 Mon-Wed Warning grades issued to students for 1st cohort classes
February 10 Friday Last day to withdraw from 1st cohort classes
February 25 Saturday Winter Vacation begins 2:00 p.m.
March 6 Monday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
March 6-11 Mon-Sat Warning Grades issued to students for full semester classes
March 10-14 Fri-Tue Final examinations for 1st cohort classes
March 14 Tuesday Last day of 1st cohort classes
March 15 Wednesday First day of 2nd cohort classes
March 17 Friday Last day to drop or add classes for 2nd cohort classes

March 24

Friday

Last day to withdraw from full semester classes or from the college for the semester

April 3-5

Mon-Wed

Warning grades issued to students for 2nd cohort classes

April 6

Thursday

Last day to withdraw from 2nd cohort classes

April 12

Wednesday

Spring Vacation begins 10:00 p.m.

April 18

Tuesday

Classes Resume 8:00 a.m.

May 4 Thursday Last day of full semester and 2nd cohort day classes for the semester
May 5 Friday Reading Day - No classes
May 6-11 Sat-Thu Final Examinations for full semester and 2nd cohort classes
May 13 Saturday Spring Commencement 10:15 a.m.

Incomplete course grade change deadline:  for the Spring semester - July 13, 2017. 

Summer Sessions 2017

back to top
Mini-Mester Session May 16 - June 2
May 2 Tuesday Tuition due in full
May 16 Tuesday Classes begin
May 16-17 Tue-Wed Drop / Add
May 25 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes
May 29 Monday Memorial Day - no classes
June 2 Friday Last day of classes
Summer I Session June 5 - July 6
May 19 Friday Tuition due in full
June 5 Monday Classes begin
June 5-7 Mon-Wed Drop / Add
June 22 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day - no classes
July 6 Thursday Last day of classes
Summer II Session July 10 - August 10
June 21 Wednesday Tuition due in full
July 10 Monday Classes begin
July 10-12 Mon-Wed Drop / Add
July 27 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes
August 10 Thursday Last day of classes
Special Session* May 16 - August 10
May 2 Tuesday Tuition due in full (or within 10 days of registration)**
May 16 Tuesday Classes begin
May 16-19, 22 Tue-Fri, Mon Drop / Add**
May 29 Monday Memorial Day - no classes.
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day - no classes.
July 7 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes**
August 10 Thursday Last day of classes
* Individualized Studies include:
  • Engineering Co-ops
  • Experiential learning/CJA
  • Experiential learning/REC
  • Directed Field Experience
  • SPM Work Experience
  • Tutorials
  • Independent Studies
  • Cooperative Internships
** For Individualized Studies Only: Registration deadline is July 14. All other Special Session courses follow the deadlines printed above.

Incomplete course grade change deadline: for Summer Sessions - 60 days after the last day of the session.

Fall Semester 2017 - 2018

back to top
August 25 Friday Fall Orientation for New Students
August 28 Monday Evening classes begin at 5:00 p.m., including 1st cohort classes
August 29 Tuesday Day classes begin including 1st cohort classes
Late Registration Fee Applies
September 4 Monday Labor Day - No Classes
September 6 Wednesday Last day to drop or add classes for the semester including 1st cohort classes and special studies
September 14 Thursday Last day to apply for Winter Graduation
September 18-20 Mon-Wed Warning grades issued to students for 1st cohort classes
September 22 Friday Last day to withdraw from 1st cohort classes
October 6-8 Fri-Sun Fall Fest (Family and Homecoming Weekend)
October 7-13 Sat-Fri Warning Grades issued to students for full semester classes
October 13 Friday Fall Break begins 5:00 p.m.
October 18 Wednesday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
October 19-23 Thu-Mon Final examinations for 1st cohort classes
October 23 Monday Last day of 1st cohort classes
October 24 Tuesday First day of 2nd cohort classes
October 26 Thursday Last day to drop or add classes for 2nd cohort classes
October 27 Friday Last day to withdraw from full semester classes or from the college for the semester
November 8-10 Wed-Fri Warning grades issued to students for 2nd cohort classes
November 14 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from 2nd cohort classes
November 21 Tuesday Thanksgiving Vacation begins 10:00 p.m.
November 27 Monday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
December 12 Tuesday Last day of full semester and 2nd cohort day classes for the semester
December 13 Wednesday Reading Day - NO CLASSES
December 13 Wednesday Final Examinations for Wednesday EVENING classes including cohort classes
December 14-19 Thu-Tue Final Examinations for full semester and 2nd cohort classes
December 20 Wednesday Winter Commencement 10:15 a.m.

Incomplete course grade change deadline:  for the Fall semester - February 20, 2018. 

Spring Semester 2017 - 2018

back to top
January 16 Tuesday January Student Orientation for New Students
January 17 Wednesday Day and Evening Classes begin including 1st cohort classes
Late Registration Fee Applies
January 24 Thursday Last day to drop or add classes for the semester including 1st cohort classes and special studies
February 5 Monday Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
February 5-7 Mon-Wed Warning grades issued to students for 1st cohort classes
February 9 Friday Last day to withdraw from 1st cohort classes
February 24 Saturday Winter Vacation begins 2:00 p.m.
March 5 Monday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
March 5-10 Mon-Sat Warning Grades issued to students for full semester classes
March 9-13 Fri-Tue Final examinations for 1st cohort classes
March 13 Tuesday Last day of 1st cohort classes
March 14 Wednesday First day of 2nd cohort classes
March 16 Friday Last day to drop or add classes for 2nd cohort classes

March 23

Friday

Last day to withdraw from full semester classes or from the college for the semester

March 28

March 28

Spring Vacation begins 10:00 p.m.

April 3

April 3

Classes Resume 8:00 a.m.

April 3-5

April 3-5

Warning grades issued to students for 2nd cohort classes

April 6

April 6

Last day to withdraw from 2nd cohort classes

May 3 Thursday Last day of full semester and 2nd cohort day classes for the semester
May 4 Friday Reading Day - No classes
May 5-10 Sat-Thu Final Examinations for full semester and 2nd cohort classes
May 12 Saturday Spring Commencement 10:15 a.m.

Incomplete course grade change deadline:  for the Spring semester - July 12, 2018. 

WITHDRAWAL POLICY

back to top

Failure to attend class or merely giving notice to the instructor will not be considered an official withdrawal and will result in student receiving a failing grade for the course. A Records and Registrar’s Office Change Form must be secured from and returned to the Records Office by the dates noted above. Anyone who is enrolled for more than 18 credits as of the last day to drop or add classes will be billed for those additional credits. Please refer to the Refund Policy at the Business Office website.

12-9-16

Dean of Academic Affairs