Marco Roth

Marco Roth Marco Roth
The Scientists: A Family Romance
Lecture: September 19, 2013, 5 p.m.
Cora Miller Art Gallery

The Scientists Marco Roth was raised amid the vanished liberal culture of Manhattan's Upper West Side. After studying Comparative Literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1, in 2004. Malcolm Gladwell said, "n+1 is rigorous, curious and provocative. Intelligent thought is not dead in New York. It has simply moved to Brooklyn."

Roth's first book, The Scientists, is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals. Chronicling a childhood veiled in secrecy after Roth's father dies of AIDS, The Scientists is a memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams and J. R. Ackerley, grappling with the slippage between literal and metaphorical inheritance in a style that is both elegiac and defiant. The New Yorker said it is "A lyrical depiction of education, family relationships, self-knowledge, and 'a culture that believes no one should suffer, least of all in public.'" Recipient of the 2011 Shattuck Prize for literary criticism, Roth lives in Philadelphia.