Jen Michalski

Jen Michalski Jen Michalski
The Tide King
Lecture: October 24, 2013, 5 p.m.
Brossman Art Gallery

The Tide King Jen Michalski is author of the short story collections Close Encounters and From Here (forthcoming) and the novella collection Could You Be With Her Now. Her new novel, The Tide King, a magical realist adventure in the vein of Borges, Atwood, and Chabon, is about Stanley Polenksy, a Polish-American from Baltimore, whose mother gives him an herb that promises eternal life as he heads off to World War II. Robin Black said, "The Tide King is a profoundly compassionate novel about what it means to be a mortal being — or maybe worse to be an immortal one. Part folktale, part World War II buddy story, part exploration of myriad kinds of love, this is an absolute stunner of a book. Jen Michalski is a writer whose talent seems limitless. The only consolation to finishing these pages is the thought of what more will surely follow." Michalski is the founding editor of the literary quarterly jmww, a co-host of The 510 Readings and the biannual Lit Show, and interviews writers at The Nervous Breakdown. She lives in Baltimore, MD.