Annual Juried Student Exhibition

2012 Juried Exhibit (Robots by Mariah Hertz) Annual Juried Student Exhibition
Exhibition: January 23 - February 6, 2014
Opening Reception: January 23, 2014, 5–7 p.m.
Graphic Design Jurors: Post Typography
(Bruce Willen and Nolen Strals)
Fine Art Juror: Diane Burko

The Annual Juried Student Exhibition features selected work from students taking courses in Fine Art and Graphic Design at York College. Students submit their work for consideration, and our guest jurors select works that are exceptional, represent our program, and exhibit well together. This year our Graphic Design jurors are the Baltimore design duo known as Post Typography, Bruce Willen and Nolen Strals, and our Fine Art juror is Philadelphia painter/photographer Diane Burko. Award winners chosen by the jurors will be announced at the opening reception at 5:30 p.m.

In 2007, Nolen Strals and Bruce Willen, former classmates at Maryland Institute College of Art, incorporated Post Typography as a full-time design studio, and since then have won numerous design awards, and have had their work featured in publications such as Phaidon's Area 2, and Taschen's Contemporary Graphic Design. Diane Burko is a painter and photographer whose current work, Politics of Snow, investigates historical comparisons of global climate change through images culled from glacial geological data recorded throughout the world. Recently Burko participated with 20 other artists and scientists on a three-week expedition around Svalbard – an international territory 10 degrees south of the North Pole and 400 miles north of Norway.