Enactus Returns from 2014 U.S. National Exposition

Several students, faculty and administrators represented YCP Enactus (formerly SIFE) at the 2014 Enactus U.S. National Exposition in Cincinnati, Ohio. Enactus, with nearly 1,800 chapters worldwide, engages students of all backgrounds to use their interests to create and implement innovative projects that generate social change, facilitate learning and result in empowerment in their respective communities.

Four students from York College gave a 17-minute presentation on the chapter’s results in helping out the York community, which in the past included the revitalization of the Heritage Rail Trail and collaboration with Downtown, Inc.

The students presented in front of corporate representatives from companies such as Hershey, Wal-Mart and BIC, placing in the top six in their league of more than 10 teams. They returned to YCP with an Opening Round Finalist award, which placed them in the top 100 teams in the country after the first day of competition.

“Experiences like this are what gives me the ability to progress our chapter to new heights,” said Joel Copenheaver ’16, incoming president of YCP Enactus.

In addition to the competition, students were able to network and interview for potential jobs at the career fair which featured corporations such as Microsoft, General Mills and Coca-Cola.

YCP Enactus has already started to prepare for next year’s competition and plans on improving the connection with the College and the downtown York community.

“We will continue to grow and be a bright light in the York community through our future projects,” said Kyle Lawrence ’14.

Written by Sean Altberger ’14, Office of Communications Intern



Main Advisor - Dr. Sean Andre
Competition Advisor - Dr. Jeff Woodall
Team Advisor - Dr. Aaron Pennington
Team Advisor - Jolynn Varano

YCP Students

Competition Coordinator - Naomi Fort
Presenters - Taylor Tolbert, Lydia Moro, Joel Copenheaver and Tony Chichetti
Executive Board Members - Kyle Lawrence, Oscar Winters, Brian Finley and Joe McElwee
General Members - Matt Zuber, Alanna Curtis, Allison Dobstetter and Julian Mayer