Nursing Scholarships and Awards

These scholarships and awards are available through the Department of Nursing.

Please contact the Financial Aid office for other possibilities.

Undergraduate Students


Lori A. Clegg Memorial Nursing

To a full-time nursing student with a GPA of 3.0 or above who needs financial assistance to complete his or her degree. Determined by the nursing faculty in conjunction with the office of financial aid.

Pam Abel Scholarship

To the student who has shown the greatest courage in overcoming personal obstacles in the pursuit of the nursing degree. Students nominate the candidates. Monetary award to be credited toward fall semester tuition. Selected in the spring and awarded at the Fall Scholarship Reception.

Florence deHaven Stick Memorial Scholarship

Offered annually by the Visiting Nurse Association (VNA) of Hanover and Spring Grove to a student who is beginning a career as a Registered Nurse or a Licensed Practical Nurse and who is in an accredited nursing program. Awarded by the VNA on the basis of financial need, academic performance and extracurricular activities. Deadline is usually mid-March. Contact the VNA for details 800-422-3197 or

Brigitte D. Gove '07 Memorial Nursing Scholarship

To a rising sophomore, junior or senior YCP student who has maintained a minimum grade point average of 3.0 or greater.

Avillo Family Scholarship

To a rising senior who has demonstrated academic excellence (3.0 or above) as well as service to the college community.


Glenn and Dora Swartz Award

To the graduating senior nursing student who has achieved the highest overall GPA just prior to the final semester of the nursing program.

Anna M. Sanderson Memorial Award

To the senior student who demonstrated the highest clinical proficiency in long-term nursing courses. Selected by the NUR340/341 faculty. Presented at the April Recognition Ceremony.

Mary E. Yeagle Award

To the graduating senior adjudged to have had the highest amount of integrity during his student nursing career. Presented at the April Recognition Ceremony.

Betty Ketterman Kain Memorial Scholarship

Given annually to an RN to BS student. Selected by the RN to BS coordinator in the spring semester.

Departmental Recognition Awards

To students who served the profession, department, or class. Not based on GPA. Nominated by faculty. Awarded at Fall and Spring Convocations.


Graduate Students

Susan Ropp Heinle '82 Scholarship Serving the York College Nurse Practitioner Program

To a full-time nurse practitioner student who is focused on gerontology and maintains a GPA of 3.0 or above. Recipient selected by the director of financial aid in consultation with the chair of the nursing department.

Charmaine Bentz Leadership Award

To the graduate student who exhibits the application of theory and research knowledge and the development of advanced practice nursing and/or nurse education in the classroom and clinical settings. Recipient selected by the Graduate Committee.

Hazel Currier Memorial Award

Presented to the graduating nurse anesthetist student who best exemplifies the qualities of the program's motto of "Vigilance, Knowledge, and Compassion."

CRNA Program Director's Award for Clinical Excellence

Awarded to the student whose clinical expertise and academic standing is recognized by the clinical faculty as the best among his or her classmates.

Outstanding Clinical Scholar

To the Doctor of Nursing Practice graduate who has demonstrated excellence in clinical scholarship by translating the most current evidence into the clinical practice setting. The recipient has conducted an evidence-based practice project that has the potential to transform health care in this region of the country through his/her leadership role.